maryannpetersen.com
maryannpetersen.com Podcast
Summer Love
2
0:00
-6:37

Summer Love

It's a political miracle
2

I went to the county fair. I worked the democrat booth. We registered voters and sold buttons and stickers. We signed up volunteers. So many new volunteers!

I took a break to watch motorcycles flying through the air, a favorite thing! Check out the slo-mo videos!

Later I called the volunteers and we ended up talking for too long and I took breaks between and danced in the kitchen.

It’s a “political miracle,” a college student said to me. “It’s a supernova,” I shot back.

“I wasn’t paying attention, now I am,” someone just told me this morning.

I was once a hearth keeper for Quakers, which was a great job. I am thinking about it today, about the value of keeping the fire going, tending it. It doesn’t have to be a bonfire, it just needs to have coals, an occasional spark, some heat. If we can keep this going it will eventually catch the attention of others. A higher flame or a bonfire really attracts.

I see now how people need to be attracted in some way, they don’t move toward no attraction, they must like the smell or sound or vibrations, the quality of light produced. 

You might be in a group of fireflies in the forest flashing your signal to other fireflies and building a movement with the momentum of light. You might reach out, use your energy to generate more energy within and towards others. 

We dem volunteers are candles, but not in the wind anymore, no we are making connections every day, everyone I call, the mountain of volunteers, they are stepping in, up, through, joining, and there is, the main thing felt is: joy. Summer is joy. It says so in Chinese medicine theory.

With this on my mind, or while thinking about this, I mowed the fluffy dandelions in the front yard. They flew up, exploded into individual tiny puffs all together, forming their next movement. They effortlessly ride the air currents that take them upward. 

People want to be a part of something positive. We are happy to be in union, we are better from knowing each other even briefly in this context. 

I had a conversation on a bench outside by a large cedar tree talking about how to impart wisdom and how to receive wisdom; how to create a succession plan; to extend wisdom and learned lessons into generations; and what language we use to even discuss this idea. We practiced moving our mouths around words and sentences that were not likely original, but felt unusual in their use. We can try new ways of being or perhaps old ways that have been forgotten for a period of time and in certain places. 

I talked about rewilding in my last piece and some wanted to know how to do it and one way to do it is to be brave about exploring your own instincts and leanings. Putting some time into it.

My friend said something I loved today which was, “how can I be open to the world without letting it crush me.” I wonder this too. We can try things.

We could be like pumpkins, in clusters on vines, ripening with the sun, filled with seeds, happy and growing. 

It’s kind of fun to look at our own life and say what is the current language of my life? How can I follow my own wildness, rewild, connect to my own hearth, and maybe even make one for other people when I’m in the mood.

I look toward other fluffy dandelion specs to move with, those holding candles, the ones keeping the coals going. I try to bring fuel to the effort, and the ability to form and use new language, combinations of words, warm my hands, and bring the willingness to extend.

If you want to hop on the momentum of the Harris campaign, no matter where you live, ask me and I’ll point you toward doing something.

Locally in Eugene: https://www.dplc.org/

Discussion about this podcast

maryannpetersen.com
maryannpetersen.com Podcast
Water, trees, questions, poetic essays.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Mary Ann
Recent Episodes
  Mary Ann
  Mary Ann
  Mary Ann
  Mary Ann
  Mary Ann