maryannpetersen.com
maryannpetersen.com Podcast
A new year
4
0:00
-3:53

A new year

Drink the green drink
4
Transcript

No transcript...

This week had pond vibes.

Ooh what are you drinking? It’s so green, I could never drink anything green, it just bothers me! 

It’s a matcha latte?

You mean like tea? Like matcha? Is it like coffee? Does it taste like grass? I like the color green but I wouldn’t drink anything green. It reminds me of the stuff on a pond, you know that thick green layer, ooh yuck.

Oh yeah it is like pond scum and I like to drink it partially for that reason. I like ponds and the green stuff on ponds, I like green, and I like grass.

Oh. Well, do you like eggnog?

No, I don’t at all like eggnog. 

Broke the clippers on blackberries

My car was a swamp, after three tries at a water leak repair.

I guess I was feeling a little bit feisty. It was probably the complimentary cappuccino kicking in.

The footwell held water and puddled around my fingers with the slightest pressure. I got an EV loaner and I was intrigued.

Scenes from a dog walk

You don’t turn it on and you don’t turn it off. You just get in it and it intuits your seat settings - I was lifted and guided with an invisible force toward the pedals and steering wheel. I want to make a car called INTUIT.

If you hop in, and don’t go, it provides heat while you talk on the phone with your brother. I told him, “it’s like driving a fancy vacuum cleaner!” He said, “I’m sure they will use that in their ads.”

I feel a tad superior in my VW EV. I tried talking to the car but it never answered me. Meanwhile, hopefully my car is getting dried out.

No rain garden makes for standing water

I waited in line for 30 minutes to get my shingles vaccine. It went by faster when my neighbor showed up and got in line behind me. We got caught up on who broke up, the old dog that died and the new replacement dog, which two guys almost got in a fistfight in the front yard, the terminally ill visitor who passed using assisted suicide methods, and the beloved ill and older neighbor who also died but was not assisted as far as we know.

Rain garden working this corner

For New Year’s Eve, I went to the burn party again - they make a fire outside and we write down things to burn, to leave behind. Can it be concepts? Yes I told the people at the party before the party. How about “atmospheric rivers” I’m sick of that. And “woke.” Also “Tesla.” We always burn the patriarchy. Someone burned fascism, white supremacy. The fire smoked concepts, things, notions. Including capitalism, fear, war.

 Some didn’t say what they were burning- they just walked to the fire and threw it in. We collectively watched it flare up and turn to ash. 

Alley river

I was antsy at the car dealership because I had a group of Quakers coming over that evening and what is that called a quorum, a quaking, a query. Actually we ate dinner together and just chatted and when we finished, we did have a group query: how are you feeding your spirit right now? And then we all closed our eyes, were silent, no one spoke until someone spoke, finished, another spoke, finished, and another, until we had all spoken and been heard and learned right then and there about personal and group nourishment.

I’m drinking pond water, burning off stuff no longer needed, feeding my spirit, fixing leaks, catching up on the neighborhood. How’s 2024 going for you?

Rain days mean inside days

Leave a comment

4 Comments
maryannpetersen.com
maryannpetersen.com Podcast
Water, trees, questions, poetic essays.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Mary Ann
Recent Episodes