maryannpetersen.com
maryannpetersen.com Podcast
AI
14
0:00
-4:11

AI

Tadpole salon
14
Transcript

No transcript...

“You’re a psychopath hahahaha!” Hahaha I reply, this is joke. A person told me she uses AI for email and she couldn’t believe I like to write emails like I used to like writing letters. She hates it. “Oh yeah, just plug in what you need and then do a quick scan before sending- you might have to change a couple words.”

I then wondered if AI could write my blog better than I do. Uh-oh.

I think it would say, as me:

I saw tadpoles in a puddle by the trail and it made me ask how is it to be leaving behind something while becoming another thing? And they might answer we are really just here now and don’t think too much about what was and what is going to be only that we embody transformation while breathing water and eventually air also- maybe we always did, we lose track. Anyway, even surrounded by mud and water plants and micro plastics that we weave into lawn chairs during our tadpole salons which are kind of a brief window when we are the most open to Q&As amongst each other. 

Me again: Speaking of tadpoles, I scrubbed my birdbath and rinsed and filled it with a bucket of water. Did the same with two other water stations for whoever passes through the yard. Cleaned the hummer feeders, though they haven’t been around lately. Someone told me this morning that one chickadee song sounds like “hey sweetie.” So that is what I will whistle in the yard while I work, heyyy sweeetie.

There is something oddly freeing about pretending to be AI. I looked out the window this morning and realized I was not in Norway. I could probably get into talking like this. I like non-sequiturs.

I walked toward the bike racks after work Friday evening and two bikes looked funny, they didn’t have front wheels. One of the bikes was mine. I had to push it home on the back wheel, which luckily was only a mile but even a mile up and down hills carrying your pannier and balancing a rolling bike without a front wheel for a half hour is a little difficult. It felt more like vandalism than theft. Why steal a wheel? In broad daylight, on a busy car/bike/foot traffic area in front of the clinic where I work. 

Worse yet when I called the REI repair shop they said “we aren’t taking any bikes until sometime in May. We are too busy and everyone is bringing bikes in because it is spring.” Luckily the nearby bike shop told me to bring it in before they closed and they will call me this morning to tell me if they found a good replacement.

Follow up: $174 for an economical/quality replacement. 

I heard it was a good practice to write about situations in third person sometimes to figure them out. I tried it, not as AI but as a neutral reporter and it was actually very clarifying. 

It is possible if we write from our own perspective all of the time we can get buried in our own story. So I’ve been practicing writing as more of a fly on the wall and a rather neutral fly and it reports back to me the situation in a way I hadn’t seen it before.

Do you ever use AI for writing an email? Or other stuff? How do you like it?

The first car I learned to drive was this bus.

Leave a comment

14 Comments
maryannpetersen.com
maryannpetersen.com Podcast
Water, trees, questions, poetic essays.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Mary Ann
Recent Episodes