maryannpetersen.com
maryannpetersen.com Podcast
Goodbye tree
18
0:00
-4:08

Goodbye tree

Nice to know you
18
Smoke tree

This tree is going to be removed. I’ve walked by it about 20 years’ worth of times because it’s between my home and the coffee shop, natural food grocer, and bike shop.

I’ve wondered who planted it, how old it is, and what kind of tree is it? I feel sad seeing the removal signs stapled on it. But, it seems more leaned over than it used to be, and the base looks cracked and stressed.

Anyway, the city’s urban forestry department posted a notice on it saying it must go- as it has too many defects and conflicts.

I called the city about the tree, not to object, just to learn more. Matt called me back and confirmed: it was a smoke tree (smoketree or smoke tree). He said that the tree got on their radar because it is not ADA compliant. It leans into the sidewalk too much- taking up space for those going by. He said by the time they trimmed it away from the sidewalk there wouldn’t be much left of it so there likely won’t be anything of it left.

The tree never really looked happy and healthy. No one took care of it. Though now, in spring, it is blooming and looks pretty.

Someone would occasionally hack it back. One time I saw a guy with some kind of power tool buzzing off branches in a utilitarian manner, nothing artful about it.

This tree is just off from a house where there used to live a woman who walked slowly with her dog, Sammy. I don’t see them anymore. I still see another dog, Porter, regularly with his person. I don’t remember the people names, just the dogs.

Like I met this dog, Happy, the other day at Best Buy. I didn’t get the man’s name.

This is Happy

Smoke trees and smoke bushes break down into many appearances, this one is pink. It’s a common tree in the south, places like Alabama, Tennessee, Oklahoma.

Martha Stewart keeps some at her farm in Bedford, NY. In the sunken garden, by the pool.

More facts:

  • The orange/yellow heartwood was so popular for clothing dye, it was nearly wiped out. This was around Civil War time.

  • Related to the cashew family, as well as poison ivy.

  • It symbolizes purification, cleansing, transformation.

It’s in my house now and it has a particular smell, a bit pungent. Cleansing. Astringent. I had to move it outside. It was kind of making my breathing feel weird.

I just wanted to have it be on the record, it was here. I saw it, others saw it, and a few probably hit their head on it.

Around May 7th the tree will be removed. I will miss it.

Leave a comment

18 Comments
maryannpetersen.com
maryannpetersen.com Podcast
Water, trees, questions, poetic essays.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Mary Ann
Recent Episodes